Summer Music Series: Thomas Heywood

This event has now finished!

Click here to view the latest events

Thursday, 27 June 2019
Exeter Cathedral

Programme – Vive l’orgue!

Overture to Orpheus in the Underworld
Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880), transcribed by Thomas Heywood (b.1974)

Scherzo from 12 New Pieces for Organ – Volume 2, Op. 63 No. 8
Théodore-César Salomé (1834-1896)

Concert Fantasia on Bizet’s ‘Carmen’
Edwin H. Lemare (1865-1934)

Clair de lune from Suite Bergamasque
Claude Debussy (1862-1918), trans. Thomas Heywood (b. 1974)

Three movements from Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Op. 80
i. Allegro appassionato
ii. Adagio
iii. Scherzo
Felix-Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911)

Toccata [in B minor] from Dix Pièces [1892]
Eugène Gigout (1844-1925)

Carillon de Westminster from Pièces de Fantaisie – Troisième suite, Op. 54 No. 6
Louis Vierne (1870-1937)


Tickets £8 adult, £4 student and FREE for Under 18s. Booking available from 01392 285983 (Monday to Friday) and online.


The internationally acclaimed organ virtuoso Thomas Heywood enjoys an outstanding reputation as one of the world’s finest concert organists.

“An acknowledged master”, Heywood has travelled over 750,000 miles or 1.2 million kilometres performing solo concerts on the most celebrated pipe organs across the globe. He has an ever-growing repertoire of over 5,000 works and was the first Australian musician in history to live as a professional concert organist.

Also a talented and prolific transcriber, Heywood’s published solo concert organ arrangements of the most famous classical and romantic music are performed by organists around the world.

Heywood performs regular international solo tours in concert halls, town halls, cathedrals and churches throughout the UK, North America and Europe where German critics have hailed him as the “Ironman der Orgel. Der australische Starorganist Thomas Heywood.”